{Real Wedding Story} Simply timeless barn wedding

BRIDE & GROOM: Erika & Regan Matlock

WEDDING DATE: July 21st, 2018

LOCATION: The Slit Barn (freshlookdesign.ca/ the-slit-barn.html) Cambridge, ON “I am originally from Cambridge, and lived very close to the Slit Barn, driving by it daily when I was growing up. When Regan proposed to me, it really was the only place we wanted to get married. It was nice to have something from my past to start a great future with my new husband.” – E

# GUESTS: 80

BUDGET: $20,000

THEME: “The overall theme was simple and timeless. There wasn’t a strict colour scheme as long as everything blended together. The colour palette was white, gold and blush.” – E

PHOTOGRAPHY: Hillier Photography (♥) (hillierphotography.com), Kitchener, ON “Brianna is an old friend of ours, and we could not imagine anyone else as our photographer for our wedding day! Our favourite part of the photos was actually the engagement photos. It helped us learn to work with Brianna and how to pose. It got us ready and excited for the big day. I still look at our wedding photos and cannot believe this is us. She captured the beauty of our day, and we will always have these memories because of her.”- E

FLORALS & DÉCOR: Fresh Look Design Inc. (♥) (freshlookdesign.ca) Kitchener, ON

OFFICIANT: Martti at Kettle Creek Weddings (kettlecreekweddings.com) Kitchener, ON

CAKE: The Cake Box (cakebox.ca) Kitchener, ON

GROOM + GROOMSMEN’S ATTIRE: Moore’s Clothing for Men (mooresclothing.com) Kitchener, ON

BRIDE’S ATTIRE: Ballet’s Bridal (balletts.com) Kitchener, ON

BRIDESMAID ATTIRE: LuLu’s Fashion Lounge (lulus.com)

DJ: Just Grin Productions (justgrin.ca) Kitchener, ON

HAIR: Once upon a Tina (facebook.com/ OnceUponATina) Kitchener, ON

MAKEUP: Meghan Barbour Brow & Beauty (meghanbarbour.ca) Guelph, ON

CATERING: Edelweiss Catering (edelweisscatering.ca) Kitchener, ON

BEST MEMORY: “The best memory for me was finally seeing Regan at the altar. I hope to make him smile like that every day. Another favourite memory was Regan’s speech to me. Regan was diagnosed with cancer one year after we started dating. Our wedding day was his 6th year anniversary of being cancer-free. His sharing that with everyone and seeing him that day as a survivor was a moment I will never forget. We got to have our wedding because of the amazing doctors he had, family support and how we worked together to get him healthy. We have our entire lives now to remember our wedding day and create more memories together..”- E

ADVICE, ONE BRIDE TO ANOTHER: “Remember, this day is for you! Everyone is there to support the two of you. Sometimes when planning the wedding it shifts from planning what you want to planning a day for everyone else. Just remember to take time and refocus the day back to what matters – it’s the beginning of your marriage together!” – E

Featured in the Spring/Summer 2019 issue of The Wedding Ring Magazine 

MORE ABOUT HILLIER PHOTOGRAPHY | Hillier Photography (hillierphotography.com) shoots vivid and timeless images to capture your wedding day (more details in their review The Ring, here) To find out more, email Hillier Photography directly using the form below. 🙂

Ballett's Bridal, Edelweiss Catering & Banquet Hall, Fresh Look Design, Hillier Photography, Just Grin Productions, Kettle Creek Weddings, Lulus, Meghan Barbour Makeup Artist, Moores Clothing For Men, Once upon a Tina, Real Wedding Story, The Cake Box, The Slit Barn, The Wedding Ring Magazine Spring/Summer 2019